About Great Britain


Great Britain or United Kingdom is an island that lies northwest of the Netherlands. It is the largest island of Europe. About 62 million people live in Great Britain. Great Britain is surrounded by over 1,000 small islands. Great Britain is around five times bigger as the Netherlands. The island of Ireland lies on left of Great Britain, Great Britain consists of the following separate countries England, Scotland and Wales.The capital cities in the UK are: Cardiff, the capital of Wales, London, the capital of England and Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland. You will find more information and fun facts about these cities further on in the website.

In Great Britain people pay with the currency pound, one pound is around one euro and ten cents. The symbol for the pound is £.


A ten pound banknote.


The Union Flag, also known as the Union Jack, is the national flag of the United Kingdom. It is called the Union Flag because it symbolizes all the countries together in the UK.


Maak jouw eigen website met JouwWeb